#fivefingers transition update…

My first run in the Vibram Fivefingers was 5th July – just over a month ago. Since then I’ve been slowly and steadily increasing speed and mileage. 

Today I headed to the gym for a run on the treadmill, in fact my first treadmill run in the Fivefingers. On top of the first treadmill run, it was the longest to date: 5.4 miles. 


Struggled a bit this afternoon, I was expecting the barefoot running on the treadmill to feel quite good, it didn’t. My feet felt a bit uncomfortable, the lovely soft bouncy surface I was expecting was quite hard. It felt worse than running on the pavement. Also, came away with a bit of a blister on the bottom of my big toe! What’s that all about? 

It’s the Sleaford 10k on Friday night and I was planning to run in the Fivefingers – that might need a rethink.