I’ve got ‘The Fear’ #juneathon #project365

I think you are all more than aware of the problems I've been having with Jeff*. It has however, reached new depths. I have 'The Fear'.

Today when I got in from work I went straight out to test Jeff. Juneathon day 24. The plan was to do 3 or so miles at a reasonable pace to see how likely it was that I make an appearance at Clumber Park in Nottingham for the 'Festival of Trail' half-marathon. During the last six weeks my runs have consisted of very light jogging, or a trip to the gym for some cross-training. I have, in essence, been trying to avoid aggravating Jeff. The only problem is that Jeff is in my head, he has got me questioning my running ability. He has given me 'The Fear'.

The fear that Jeff will blow-up at any stage and cause me real issues.

The fear that I can't actually run very far – even today's 3-miler seemed harder than in the past – I felt like I had run a marathon.

The fear that maybe it's the trainers that are the problem and that I need new ones.

The fear that my running form has something to do with my problems with Jeff.

The fear that I'll wake in the morning unable to walk.

Having said all that, at the end of the run Jeff felt no worse than after a gentle jog. I can definitely feel it, an ache, although whether I just need to exercise it a bit more I'm not sure. I've had six weeks off any fast running, six weeks off anywhere near long mileage, it's time to get back in the game.

I haven't run the route I did today for weeks, it's got slightly overgrown….

And my entry for Project365 #175 I hear you say? Well, you don't have to venture far into the English literary world until you trip over some author harping on about the fields of wheat…

Field of wheat, so full and fair,

Shining, with thy sunny hair,

Lightly waving either way,

Graceful as the breezes play.

I think this is what they are on about….

Project365 #175

* You are fed-up of hearing about my calf muscle, I am fed-up talking about my calf muscle. So I'll call it Jeff from now on.

 

4 thoughts on “I’ve got ‘The Fear’ #juneathon #project365

Leave a Reply

