It is my destiny…

Day 27 of Janathon and I'm actually still enjoying it. Over the past couple of years I have been taking part in both Janathon and Juneathon and by this stage I'm normally beginning to flag a bit. This time it feels different. I think this is due to the fact that I'm not chasing a final mileage figure; I've definitely been a bit more relaxed about the whole thing. Don't get me wrong, I still feel the pressure to get the run in, but once the trainers are on I just run until I feel I've had enough. Sometimes it's short and fast, sometimes it's long and slow, sometimes it's somewhere in between. Whatever.

As we enter the final stretch I've started thinking about putting all this running to good use. Over the last six months I have eased up on the number of races I've been doing. A couple of reasons for that I suppose. Firstly, I'm not particularly chasing PBs, I generally head into races looking for a decent time. I'm not putting in enough time training to be breaking records and I'm cool with that. Secondly, I think I've just got a bit bored with the whole road running scene. I've thought about triathlons, but I'm pretty crap at swimming and can't be bothered with all the rigmarole that getting and maintaining a bike involves – I hate repairing punctures!

Therefore, time to join the obstacle race bandwagon.

I've read plenty of blogs lately, as well as first hand accounts, of how great they are. Plus, in Runner's World magazine there was an article about them.

It was meant to be. It is my destiny.

About a year or so ago I was part of a select band of men who took part in Zombie Evacuation, you can read more about it here, and it was great fun. At the time we were up for doing something similar but we never quite got round to sorting it out. That is about to change.

So here is my provisional list:

  • Newton's Fraction – March – a great half-marathon with two massive hills – good for a challenge.
  • Rat Race Dirty Weekend – May – 20 miles, 200 obstacles – enough said.
  • Tough Mudder – July – I really fancy this! I love running in mud!
  • Men's Health Survival of the Fittest – October – 10k urban assault course.

As for day 27 of Janathon….3.27 miles around the woods…after the list above it looks a bit pathetic…..although it was in the dark!

Total Janathon mileage = 89.01 (the .01 is important)

 

8 thoughts on “It is my destiny…

  1. Oh no – now you’re talking about them too! They’ve been following me around, specifically the Tough Mudder, held in the south of Scotland this summer. I’d love to be fit enough to try it… I’m going to my second Metafit class tonight (the first one required four days recovery) so maybe if I survive a month of them I’ll make the Tough Mudder my goal!

Leave a Reply

