Juneathon Day 16

You may be feeling a bit of deja vu going on….

WOT! NO DAY 15?

Yes, once again, I have managed to fail in my attempt at running everyday. Although, given that I now have a new lazy relaxed approach to the whole Juneathon challenge, I’m not beating myself up about it. The excuse I offer to the Gods of Juneathon, to quote many a teenager: “I couldn’t be bothered!”.

Anyway….onwards and upwards….Day 16….

After a lovely lay in, some blog reading and some bacon sarnies, I was ready for a run. A nice relaxing dog jog around the woods – not heard that phrase before!!? (Not to self: must make the runs sound more dynamic).

Headed off for the woods and some trail running. Weather forecast said: “Very windy and possible scattered showers”. It was very windy but once in the shelter of the woods it was pretty pleasant, until the said showers appeared! But as true to their wood as the weather people are, they were ‘scattered’ and didn’t last for long. A pretty uneventful run, I took in most of the trails, as you can see by the route. I don’t want to start the #runart off again, but does it look like a man sat on a rock contemplating the future?

One mildly interesting thing happened, I passed the same hiker three times. On the first time he said, “Good afternoon,” on the second time he gave me a knowing smile, and on the third time he completely ignored me! I’m sure this means something….but I can’t think what!!??

iPod was on shuffle and it came up with some great tunes. I also heard some great lyrics that I hadn’t heard for a while and feel the need to share them with the world:

It’s hard to see the light when the fridge door is closed.
Tip-Toe down the hall, open the door, found out that God is a small sausage roll.

‘Full Fat’ by Newton Faulkner

I think Newton Faulkner is great. He is a genius with the guitar and a fantastic songwriter. Saw him at Cambridge Folk Festival last year and he comes across as a really nice bloke. Definitely on the list of gigs to see.

Who’s that gut lord marching, you should cut down on your porklife mate, get some exercise.

‘Parklife’ by Blur

I was never a great Blur fan, I preferred Oasis, but I love that line, and rather relevant with Juneathon in progress.

Total Juneathon mileage after day 16 = 54.12

3 thoughts on “Juneathon Day 16

  1. HA! Congrats on your missed day, then! I’ve not missed a day in prior June/Janathons… but I missed the last 2 days & will miss another today, unless I count airport trotting as cardio & luggage toting as strength training. I’ve have an excellent excuse, tho: I’m heading to England to finish out Juneathon, & had to skip a few days to get my work affairs in order, pack some bags & get my “bloody arse” over there. Sounds like I should pursue some “music education” over there, for sure… never heard of those bands you mentioned…

Leave a Reply

